Tourism Directory
all about tourism.

UNWTO Awards to recognize innovation and excellence in tourism

 UNWTO Awards for Excellence and Innovation in Tourism have honored tourism initiatives and individuals for their contribution to tourism through knowledge and innovation, in line with the principles of the UNWTO Global Code of Ethics for Tourism and the United Nations Millennium Development Goals.

The 11th edition of the UNWTO Awards will celebrate remarkable achievements in the following categories:

UNWTO Ulysses Prize for Excellence in the Creation and Dissemination of Knowledge

UNWTO Ulysses Awards for Innovation 

The UNWTO Awards recognizes achievements in tourism innovation in four sub-categories:  Public Policy and Governance, Enterprises, Non-governmental Organizations, and Research and Technology. Below are this year’s finalists, in alphabetical order:

Domestic Tourism Promotion Initiative “Y tú, qué planes?”,Commission for the Promotion of Exports and Tourism - PromPeru (Peru)

  • The Use of Open Innovation in Co-Creating Vienna’s Tourism Strategy 2020, Vienna Tourist Board (Austria)

Inspira Santa Marta Hotel, Hotel Santa Marta S.A. (Portugal)

        UNWTO Ulysses Award for Innovation in Non-Governmental Organizations

        UNWTO Ulysses Award for Innovation in Research and Technology

The winners and runner-ups of the UNWTO Ulysses Awards for Innovation will be presented during the UNWTO Awards Ceremony to be held on 28 January 2015.

Prior to the Ceremony, the Awards Symposium to be held on 27 January will bring together the current and previous UNWTO Ulysses Prize Laureates as well the finalists of the UNWTO Awards for Innovation to share their experiences.

posted on Jan 21, 2015